Welcome to the Senate of Virginia Click here to visit the homepage.

Senate Clerk's Office Departments


The Senate Clerk's departments are located within the Capitol and General Assembly building. The hours of operation are from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, except during session. Office hours during the legislative session may be extended to 7:30 am to 6:00 pm, and the office is typically open should the Senate be in session past these hours.


Clerk's Office
Staff: Susan Clarke Schaar, Clerk of the Senate, Tara Perkinson, Chief Deputy Clerk; Rose Ramsey, Assistant Clerk and Trish OBrion, Secretary to the Clerk
Location: Capitol, 3rd Floor, Room N302
Phone: (804) 698-7400
Summary of Responsibilities: Statement of Economic Interests, Prefiled Bills and Resolutions, Office and Seating Assignments, Invocations, Reservations for Gallery and Committee Rooms, Resolutions, Certificates, Flags for Presentations, Floor Presentations (Pursuant to Senate Rule 19), Pages and Messengers, and Session Personnel


Committee Operations
Staff: Hobie Lehman, Assistant Clerk/ Sergeant-at-Arms and Maribeth Turner, Assistant Coordinator of Committee Operations
Location: General Assembly Building, Room 267
Phone: (804) 698-7450
Summary of Responsibilities: Senate Committees, Session Committee Schedule, Daily Floor Calendar and Commissions and Studies


Fiscal Office
Staff: Charlotte Mary, Senior Assistant Clerk- Fiscal and Human Resources; Michelle R. Wright, Fiscal Officer and Jan Waldrop, Fiscal Accountant
Location: Capitol, 1st Floor, Rooms S134, S136
Phone: (804) 698-7420
Summary of Responsibilities: Compensation and Benefits*, Travel Reimbursement, Accounts Payable/Receivables and Agency Budget Development

* Senator and legislative assistant compensation and expense reimbursements are determined by the provisions set forth in the biennial Appropriations Act and Code of Virginia references cited therein. Salary and travel reimbursement data are included under the provision of Chapter 21, Code of Virginia, Virginia Freedom of Information Act.

Information Systems
Staff: Jonathan Palmore, Senior Assistant Clerk-Technology; Linda Wettstone, Senior Systems Analyst; Glenn Robertson, Senior Systems Analyst; Maryann Horch, Senior Systems Analyst; and David Bortz, Senior Systems Analyst.
Location: General Assembly Building, Room 300
Phone: (804) 698-7470
Summary of Responsibilities: Operations for Local Area Network, User Support Operations General Computer-Related Policies, User Account Administration, Hardware and Software Acquisitions and Configurations, Training, Application Development, Web Site Development and Audio-Visual Support


Journal and Indexing
Staff: Ginny Edwards, Counsel/Assistant Journal Clerk; Dianne Whitaker, Assistant Journal Clerk/Engrossing Supervisor and Sarah Huber, Journal Assistant.
Location: Capitol, 1st Floor, Room W149
Phone: (804) 698-7440
Summary of Responsibilities: Records Legislative Actions, Manages Floor Votes and Vote Statements, Paperwork relating to Bills and Resolution (Introduced Legislation, Amendments, Engrossing, and Inquiries), Compiles Data for Senate Journal, Senate Manual, Faces of the Senate, and Other Publications


Legislative Information and Constituent Services
Staff: Nathan Hatfield, Assistant Clerk-LINCS; Bladen Finch, Senate Page Program Director/Civics Coordinator, Barbara Carter, Legislative Information Officer and Joanna Bolstad, Legislative Information Officer.
Location: Capitol, 1st Floor, Rooms S130, S132, W147
Phone: (804) 698-7410
Toll-free: (888) 892-6948
Summary of Responsibilities: Research on Legislation, Districts, and Historical Data, Constituent Services (Sending/Referring Information), Votes – Floor and Committee, Publications, Chamber Tours and Presentations and Page/Messenger Program


Support Services
Staff: Johnye Bennett, Deputy Clerk-Support Services; Jennifer Welch, Manager/Administrative Services/Purchasing; Melanie Newby, Purchasing Officer, Geneva Tulasz, Assistant Purchasing Officer, Eric Bingham, Facilities Coordinator and Erica Manson, Administrative Support Assistant.
Location: General Assembly Building, Room 325
Phone: (804) 698-7460
Summary of Responsibilities: Stationery, Business Cards, Session Supplies, Post Office, Fax Office, and Copy Center, Telephone System, Maintenance, Office Furniture, and Equipment, Senate Gift Display Case, Identification Cards, Parking, Recycling, Locker Rentals and Vending Area